Filtrer / filters
Edit Item

CALVADOS COMTE LOUIS DE LAURISTON - CHAIS DU VERGER NORMAND

Created to put an end to the fraudulent production of Calvados in the Domfrontais region, the Calvados Comte Louis de Lauriston cellar offers the forgotten treasures from these clandestine distillations, a unique range of vintages from several decades exported to more than 20 countries. .
The Domfront region has always been the cradle of family farming bringing together small farms separated by sunken lanes bordered by impenetrable hedges. Country of bocage, with uneven ground, Domfrontais proved to be favorable to the clandestine activities; The Domfrontais saw the birth of Calvados produced quickly in winter during the nights of high winds when no one wanted to venture out to control the legality of distillation; until a certain night in 1962 when zealous agents of the Administration burst into the midst of fraudsters at work. In the next hour, neighboring farmers flocked, mysteriously alerted that one of their own was in danger. Overwhelmed by the number, the tax officials were forced to line up against the wall of a stable facing the headlights of tractors and cars arranged in a semi-circle. Seeing that things were going to turn badly, Count Louis de Lauriston, then Secretary General of the Federation of Farmers, was alerted so that he could come to the scene to find a way out of this situation. After interminable negotiations, it was agreed that the fine imposed on fraudsters would be canceled, provided that a cellar supplied by Calvados, having met all the usage obligations, is created. The Count Louis de Lauriston undertook to carry out the project.
In 1962, Count Louis de Lauriston created Les Chais du Verger Normand in Domfront to market the Calvados produced by the farmers of Domfrontais.
In 1992, the Chais du Verger Normand joined forces with CHRISTIAN DROUIN S.A. for the production and marketing of their Calvados, perries, ciders and pommeau. Within the framework of this agreement, Louis de Lauriston granted the brand "Comte Louis de Lauriston" to CHRISTIAN DROUIN by placing a condition: the quality of Calvados must be irreproachable.
In 2008, Guillaume Drouin succeeded Maurice Chevret as President of the cellar.
Located in Domfront in Orne, the cellar offers, all year round free visits for individual visitors of about 25 minutes and paying for groups of more than 20 people on the secret of making blended Calvados, vintages (house specialty), Pommeau, perries and ciders.
At the end of your visit, punctuated by a tasting of many Louis de Lauriston products, you will have the opportunity to leave with a sample of the richness of these cellars while walking through the shop.
 
Opening hours : All year round, Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday 9:30 am to 12 noon.
 

Address

  • Rue du Mont Saint Michel
  • 61700
  • DOMFRONT

Contact

  • Nom: Gustin Ratron
  • Tél.: +33 (0)2 33 38 53 96
  • Fax: +33 2 33 37 99 97
  • E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  •  
Follow us : Facebook 
With the support of
logo region normandie 4 Logo UE FEADER couleur 002

Newsletter

Filtrer / filters
Edit Item

CALVADOS COMTE LOUIS DE LAURISTON - CHAIS DU VERGER NORMAND

Créée pour mettre fin aux productions frauduleuses de calvados dans la région du Domfrontais, la cave des Calvados Comte Louis de Lauriston offre aujourd'hui les trésors oubliés issus de ces distillations clandestines, une gamme unique de millésimes de plusieurs décennies exportés dans plus de 20 pays.
La région de Domfront a toujours été le berceau d'une agriculture familiale rassemblant de petites exploitations séparées par des chemins creux bordés de haies impénétrables. Pays de bocage, au sol accidenté, le Domfrontais s'est révélé propice aux activités clandestines ; Le Domfrontais a vu naître des Calvados fabriqués l'hiver à la hâte pendant les nuits de grand vent où nul ne voulait s'aventurer pour contrôler la légalité de la distillation ; jusqu'à une certaine nuit de 1962 au cours de laquelle des agents zélés de l'Administration firent irruption au milieu des fraudeurs en plein travail. Dans l'heure qui suivit, affluèrent les agriculteurs voisins, mystérieusement alertés qu'un des leurs était en danger. Submergés par le nombre, les agents du fisc furent contraints de s'aligner contre le mur d'une étable face aux phares des tracteurs et voitures disposés en demi-cercle. Voyant que les choses allaient tourner mal, on alerta le Comte Louis de Lauriston, alors Secrétaire Général de la Fédération des Exploitants Agricoles, afin qu'il vienne sur les lieux trouver une issue à cette situation. Après d'interminables négociations, il fut convenu que l'amende infligée aux fraudeurs serait annulée à condition que soit créée une cave approvisionnée par des Calvados ayant satisfait à toutes les obligations d'usage. Le Comte Louis de Lauriston s'engagea à réaliser le projet.
En 1962, le Comte Louis de Lauriston crée Les Chais du Verger Normand à Domfront pour assurer la commercialisation des Calvados produits par les fermiers du Domfrontais.
En 1992, les Chais du Verger Normand s'associent à CHRISTIAN DROUIN S.A. pour l'élaboration et la commercialisation de leurs Calvados, poirés, cidres et pommeau. Dans le cadre de cet accord, Louis de Lauriston a concédé la marque "Comte Louis de Lauriston" à CHRISTIAN DROUIN en y mettant une condition : la qualité du Calvados doit être irréprochable.
En 2008, Guillaume Drouin succède à Maurice Chevret à la Présidence de la cave.
Située à Domfront dans l’Orne, le cave propose des visites gratuites pour les visiteurs individuels d’environ 25min et payantes pour les groupes de plus de 20 personnes sur le secret de la confection des Calvados d’assemblage, des millésimes (spécialité de la maison), de Pommeau, poirés et cidres bouchés.
A l’issue de votre visite ponctuée d’une dégustation de nombreux produits Louis de Lauriston vous aurez la possibilité de repartir avec un échantillon de la richesse de ces chais en arpentant la boutique.
 
Horaires d’ouverture : Toute l’année du Lundi au Vendredi de 9h à 12h et de 14h à 18h. Le Samedi de 9h30 à 12h.
 

Adresse

  • Rue du Mont Saint Michel
  • 61700
  • DOMFRONT

Contact

  • Nom: Gustin Ratron
  • Tél.: +33 (0)2 33 38 53 96
  • Fax: +33 2 33 37 99 97
  • E-Mail: Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
  •  
Suivez-nous : Facebook 
Avec le soutien de
logo region normandie 4 Logo UE FEADER couleur 002

Newsletter