Filtrer / filters
Edit Item

DISTILLERIE LA MONNERIE

The moment you enter our cellars, the smell asks you : should we remain silent and taste, or speak up and share?
 
Nestled in the heart of the Ornais bocage in Normandy, Maison Legay's history is actually the one about a family of distillers since 1920. Specializing in the production of old Calvados, cider and Pommeau, the Monnerie Distillery welcomes you in the Swiss Normandy, at Cerisy-Belle-Etoile, at the foot of Mont de Cerisy, for 3 generations. We are very attached to our environment, to our land characterized by hedges, meadows and orchards.
Our grandfather, whose first name is Constant, is at the origin of our future. This man, born in 1891, with a strong personality has always had a great appetite in life. His curious mind ahead of the time allowed him to acquire land, in order to plant many apple trees and be able to grow his own orchards and also develop a dairy activity.
Our father Rémy succeeded him in 1960 accompanied by his wife Suzanne, who very discreetly ensured the transition with her son.
Since 1988, Didier Legay, his grandson, supported by his wife Isabelle, has been working the land located in Cerisy-Belle-Etoile and perpetuating the tradition of making Calvados with the same still, more than a century old, which remains the faithful witness of our elders' life.
Today, our orchards extend over 13 hectares, on an acid and loamy soil with 2 types of orchards, traditional high stems where the cows can graze quietly below and low stalk orchards where the grassy grass is cut regularly.
We still have an agricultural activity including mixed crops and livestock farming with a milk workshop. Our two sons have returned to the farm with us, the fourth generation is assured.
How lucky we are to work as a family, it is a transmission from father to son with a fiber of "people of the earth" that cannot be explained. Each generation has shared its passion. This family wealth reflects the style and taste of our Calvados. Each calvados has its own personality, complexity and character.
Our Calvados age in French oak barrels to allow different exchanges between brandy, wood and air, and thus develop delicate and rich woody aromas of great qualities.
We have in our cellars a wide variety of Calvados, ranging from the most fruity to the woody. We invite you to our world where know-how and quality have been the concerns of our family since 1920.
We welcome you all year round in groups or individually for a guided tour of the Distillerie la Monnerie. We invite you to live an authentic experience to discover the production of AOC Calvados and to comme to our cellars which house century-old barrels. The visit is always provided by a manager of the domain in order to pass on real know-how to you.
 
Opening hours: 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday to Saturday.
Closed on Sunday and public holidays

Address

  • LA MONNERIE
  • 61100
  • CERISY BELLE ETOILE

Contact

  • Nom: Didier LEGAY
  • Tél.: 02 33 66 39 07
  • 06 98 42 09 33
  • E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Follow us : Facebook 
With the support of
logo region normandie 4 Logo UE FEADER couleur 002

Newsletter

Filtrer / filters
Edit Item

DISTILLERIE LA MONNERIE

A l’instant où vous pénétrez dans nos caves, l’odeur vous interroge : faut-il garder le silence et déguster, ou prendre la parole et partager ?
Blottie au cœur du bocage Ornais en Normandie, l’histoire de la maison Legay est en réalité celle d’une famille de distillateurs depuis 1920. Spécialisée dans la production de Vieux calvados, cidre et Pommeau, la Distillerie La Monnerie vous accueille en Suisse Normande dans l’Orne, à Cerisy-Belle-Etoile au pied du Mont de Cerisy, depuis 3 générations. Nous sommes très attachés à notre environnement, à notre terroir caractérisé par les haies, les prés et les vergers.

Notre grand-père, de son prénom Constant, est à l’origine de notre devenir. Cet homme né en 1891, d’une forte personnalité a toujours été d’une grande appétence dans la vie. Son esprit curieux en avance sur l’époque lui permit d’acquérir des terres, afin de planter de nombreux pommiers et pouvoir élever ses propres vergers et développer également une activité laitière.
Notre père Rémy lui succéda en 1960 accompagné de son épouse Suzanne qui assura avec beaucoup de discrétion la transition avec son fils.
Depuis 1988, Didier Legay, son petit-fils, épaulé par son épouse Isabelle, exploite les terres situées à Cerisy-Belle-Etoile et perpétue la tradition de l’élaboration du Calvados avec le même alambic, vieux de plus d’un siècle, qui reste le témoin fidèle de la vie de nos anciens.
Aujourd’hui, nos vergers s’étendent sur 13 hectares, sur un sol acide et limoneux avec 2 types de vergers, traditionnels hautes tiges où les vaches peuvent pâturer tranquillement dessous et vergers basses tiges où l’herbe gazonnée est coupée régulièrement.
Nous avons toujours notre activité agricole polyculture élevage avec un atelier lait. Nos deux fils sont revenus avec nous sur l’exploitation, la quatrième génération est assurée.
Quelle chance nous avons de travailler en famille, c’est une transmission de père en fils avec une fibre "des gens de la terre" qui ne s’explique pas. Chaque génération a su faire partager sa passion. Cette richesse familiale reflète le style et le goût de nos Calvados. Chaque calvados a sa personnalité, sa complexité, son tempérament.
Notre Calvados est vieilli en fût de chêne français pour permettre différents échanges entre l’eau de vie, le bois et l’air, et ainsi développer des arômes boisés délicats et riches de grandes qualités.
Nous avons en cave une grande diversité de Calvados du plus fruité ou plus boisé. Nous vous invitons dans notre univers où le savoir-faire et la qualité demeurent les préoccupations de notre famille depuis 1920.

Nous vous accueillons toute l’année en groupe ou individuellement pour une visite guidée à la Distillerie la Monnerie. Nous vous proposons de vivre une expérience authentique pour découvrir le processus d’élaboration du calvados AOC et pénétrer dans nos chais qui abritent des fûts centenaires. La visite est toujours assurée par un dirigeant du domaine afin de vous transmettre un véritable savoir-faire.
 
Horaires d’ouverture : 9h à 19h du lundi au samedi.
Fermeture dimanche et jours féries
 

Adresse

  • LA MONNERIE
  • 61100
  • CERISY BELLE ETOILE

Contact

  • Nom: Didier LEGAY
  • Tél.: 02 33 66 39 07
  • 06 98 42 09 33
  • E-Mail: Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
Suivez-nous : Facebook 
Avec le soutien de
logo region normandie 4 Logo UE FEADER couleur 002

Newsletter